Beneath Your Wings’ Shadow (Psalm 61)

sentry-and-tower-1213194-639x852

8.7.8.7.8.7.

With the last gasp of a crushed heart
Hearken to my cry, my God!
Set the pieces of my crushed soul
On a rock so high above.
You have been for me a fortress:
Strong, secure before the foe;
In your presence I will ever
Dwell beneath your wings’ shadow.

In that shadow, wings o’erspreading,
In your tabernacle dwell:
Where no priest dare come without blood
Where the wrath-fire is kindled.
Mercy there will be my shelter;
I will not there be consumed.
But in perfect peace before you
Watch your endless days ensue.

May your King, whom you appointed,
Reign forever on your throne.
May his days be without number;
May his years be ever long.
Faithful love and truth to stand by,
Guarding, obeying his will.
Then may I in loving gladness
Live obediently still.

4-4-2017

Leave a Reply

