Take Hold by the Heart (Saraband)

ring-1484910-639x958“…I will answer him according to his many idols, so that I may take hold of the house of Israel by their hearts” (Ezekiel 14:4-5 HCSB).

Steel and stone, like python’s rhythmic death-waves,
Grip your heart with lust, their muscles flexing;
You will stand before Me, will you be brave?
Rocks and iron, can they turn aside My blow?
Can you withstand My inquiry?
Can you ransom your life with gold?
Can you find even one word to breathe?

Steel and stone assume the graveyard shift,
But earthquakes and angels win out.
I leave stone hollows with rifts
That I may fill them with the stones
That used to live within your chests
And take you by the heart to own
Your love in My true Sabbath rest.

6-15-2016

Leave a Reply

