If You Knew

John 4:10 struck me (thankfully not literally) when I read it recently. I wrote “Someone” based on it.

In response to the Samaritan woman’s shock at Jesus’ request for water, Jesus tells her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who is saying to you, ‘Give Me a drink,’ you would ask Him, and He would give you living water” (HCSB, emphasis added).

If you knew. Had she realized both who Jesus was and what He could give her, she’d be the one asking, not Him.

What’s more, it’s not even a rebuke that dismisses her. Jesus isn’t saying, “You had your shot, but you blew it. Sucks for you.” He then leads her in the conversation to the point where she not only takes His offer, but extends it to the rest of the town!

It made me think of how little I see Jesus and His gift. What boundless, vast love God has for me–none of it earned (at least by me)! What limitless power God wields for me–none of it against me!

We need so desperately to see Jesus and the inexpressible goodness of His gift–His atoning love. A reason (if not the reason) we don’t drink deeply of living water is because we forget who it is that invites us and what He has to offer us.

“Singers and dancers alike all say:
All my springs are in You” (Psalm 87:7 HCSB).

Leave a Reply

