John’s Humility

John [the Baptist] effectively said, “One greater than me is coming [v.7].

He is so great, I am not worthy to do what only a Gentile slave would do [v.7].

My baptism is outward with water: a symbol. His baptism is inward with the Spirit: the real thing [v.8].

The One who is coming is mightier than I am! He is more worthy than I am!

He is more powerful than I am! I have touched your body with water.

He will touch your soul with the Holy Spirit!

I know who I am in God’s plan. I know who He is in God’s plan too!”

— Danny Akin, Christ-Centered Expository Commentary: Mark, 8 (line breaks added).

Leave a Reply

