2015 Reading List: Covenant of War

Graham, Cliff. Covenant of War.

Covenant of War is the second volume in Cliff Graham’s intense Lion of War series. David is on the throne in Hebron, but not yet king over the united tribes.

Everything said in the review of Lion of War applies here, so I’ll refer you there.

One of the standout features of this particular volume is the change in David. For most of the story, gone is the rugged soldier-saint; David has become lax in the absence of conflict. The atrophy of his muscles is paralleled by the atrophy of his heart and faithfulness to Yahweh, evidenced most clearly by his growing harem in Hebron.

Yet redemption still comes to the anointed king, and this volume shows even more clearly that the battles spoken of in the Psalms are not always or only physical battles against flesh and blood.

Cliff Graham does the Church a great service by reminding us of the gritty reality of faith. Instead of giving us polished hagiography, he gives us a far more realistic and compelling picture of faith.

This series has encouraged me to pray the prayer in times of temptation and struggle: “Cover me in the day of war.” When we see that the battle for our souls and joy is indeed a battle, we can pray for our Shield and Fortress to defend us.

May the LORD be praised,
who trains my hands for battle and
my fingers for warfare.

He is my faithful love and my fortress,
my stronghold and my deliverer.

He is my shield,
and I take refuge in Him.

Psalm 144:1-2a HCSB

One thought on “2015 Reading List: Covenant of War

Leave a Reply

