Jonah 2

I called to the LORD in my distress
I cried out for help in the belly of Sheol
All Your breakers and waves crash over me
I said, “There is no help for my soul!”

You threw me in the depths of the sea
The current carried me away from life
When the prison doors slammed shut behind me
To Your temple I lifted my eyes

When hope was just a dimming ember
When life’s light was all but gone
You raised my life out of the Pit
Salvation is Yours, and Yours alone

Those who cling to their worthless idols
Throw away your holy, steadfast love
But I will raise my voice in thanksgiving
I will offer up my praises in a song

When hope was just a dimming ember
When life’s light was all but gone
You raised my life out of the Pit
Salvation is Yours, and Yours alone

3-16-15

Leave a Reply

