Cloud-Mover (Ellie’s Song)

My two-year-old daughter loves to see the Moon whenever we’re out at night. She always looks for Luna, as her cousin calls it. She’s so excited when the night sky is clear, and so disappointed when it’s cloudy. She knows that God Almighty is big and strong and can move the clouds, and I can’t tell you the times a cloudy night has opened up–even for a moment–at the request of a little girl.

You have such joy on cloudless nights
When Luna’s shining pale and bright
The night’s gleaming pearl stands in view
God Almighty’s jewel of night

But so often the clouds appear
And the Moon’s no longer there

“God, can You move the clouds for me?
I just want to see the Moon
The scary night’s too much for me
I just want to see the Moon”

There are so many cloudless nights
Where pearly joy’s too bright to bear;
There are many cloudy ones, too,
Weighed down with so much despair

And so often the clouds roll in
So the Moon can’t be seen

“God, can You move the clouds for me?
I just want to see the Moon
The scary night’s too much for me
I just want to see the Moon”

Be sure to thank Him when He hears
And moves them out of the way;
God is always big and strong
Don’t ever be scared to say

“God, can You move the clouds for me?
I just want to see the Moon
The scary night’s too much for me
I just want to see the Moon”

1-6-2015

Leave a Reply

